Sergei Isupov

Here are some photos of Sergei Isupov’s sculptures.  I really like all of these but I think I’m leaning towards the blue painted figures.  I definitely want to paint the little dot details and do an image inside of the sculpture.  The shape of number #2 is fantastic, I think I’ll use something similiar in my design as well.  And of course I’ll probably paint something on the bottom base.  Thoughts? Suggestions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sergei Isupov

  1. Johnkoshea says:

    I hope you find his work inspiring, he truly is a master of his craft and has developed his own language for mixing 2d and 3d. In this project thinking about the elements and principals of design will be very important in trying to mimic Serge’s work. Shape, color, and value are very important to think about along with balance, contrast and dominance. It would be good to also think about the narrative Sergei brings into the work. Having a very clear plan before you cast your block on monday will be very important. I’m really excited to see what you do with this, he’s one of my favorite sculptors

  2. leighanora says:

    Sergei Isupov: Artist Statement

    “I am a student of the universe and a participant in the harmonic chaos of contrasts and opposites: dark – light; male – female; good – evil. Working instinctually and using my observations, I create a new, intimate universe that reveals the relationships, connections and contradictions as I perceive them.
    For me, I find clay to be the most versatile material and it is well suited to the expression of my ideas. I consider my sculptures to be a canvas for my paintings. All the plastic, graphic and painting elements of a piece function as complementary parts of the work.”

  3. leighanora says:

    So I awoke the other morning at 4 am with an idea for my sculpture. Keeping in mind the artist’s statement I will be painting a design on the surface of the sculpture that represents “harmonic chaos” and opposites. Instead of creating a body to go with my head, I am going to do the head only and then draw the two sides of my brain fighting…..left brain/right brain. Which relates directly to my situation right now, working in a Financial Analyst role but wanting a creative outlet and getting an Art degree at the same time. It very specifically represents my thoughts at 4 am when the right side of my head wants to jump out of bed and start sketching, and the left side is saying “go back to sleep you fool, you have to be up in 3 ½ hrs to go to work”. I plan to show the “brains” as figures and I’m trying to figure out a way to have them come off the sculpture and interact with each other. I don’t know if I should carve them as a piece of the main figure our sculpt them separately and attach them later.

Leave a Reply

