Carving

middle

end

beginning

I uploaded them in a weird order but here they are! I started carving today, and I have tips! The train spike was great for removing large chunks and don’t be afraid to use some force I was hitting it a lot hard then I thought I was going to need to. Once I got is roughed out I used the little chisel John made us at the end of the night to get it a little more flat than it was. It’s by no means flat or even close to finished. I’m going to post pictures of the work my self portrait bust is inspired by, but to explain I’m making two halves of my head out of two pieces of plaster so I had a lot of plaster to hack away at I’ve gotten it down to the appropriate size for my half a head! Also WEAR EYE PROTECTION! this stuff flies everywhere and I mean everywhere! Do it some place where it’s going to be O.K. for you to make a mess… a big mess. Also I’m looking for a place to get tinted glass or tinted transparency and idea let me know! I’ll get the pictures of Damien Hirst work up as soon as I can. But right now my computer is about to die, I hope my tips helped and if you have questions before you start feel free to ask I’ll try and help but I can’t guarantee anything. This is so much fun!

About dhawk3

Art Ed. Student at Towson University, with a minor in Museum studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Carving

  1. brianbaik86 says:

    I have some carving experience so that tips are based on my carving experience you doing very well 🙂 but this way is too rough so i recommend you use scrapper and glind it the edge part like one side knife shape and use hammer but not to do strong just slowly it really helps and you can express your figure more accurately and after that process you should use clay carving tools also if your plaster is still wet you can carving easily when it dry your carving is getting hard

  2. Johnkoshea says:

    A shureform is one of the best tools for shaving plaster down. Also if you want a flat side one of the best ways is to slide the plaster across a rough surface i.e., sandpaper, concrete, stone or just anything hard, flat and stable.

  3. Johnkoshea says:

    You could also probably find a terrarium at a thrift store and figure out a fluid that could mimic the formaldehyde 🙂 I think this would be good

Leave a Reply

